Amazing oats!

I woke up this morning planning to go for a run first thing but was met by rain! So I did 100 crunches and 20 lifts with my dumbells and then did some email checking before I had my breakfast.


10:30am Breakfast was my standard, the exact same thing as yesterday: a bowl of fruit (1 apple, 1 kiwi, 1/2 cup strawberries and raspberries), 2 whole wheat quinoa rice crackers with about 1 tbs hummus and some arugula and a cup of organic green tea.

The rain had slowed to a drizzle so I bundled up and headed in to town to check out a Bikram Yoga place I just discovered. I speedwalked through town and stopped by the magazine store as well, to pick up some health and fitness magazines.


I was hoping they would have Self but they didn’t, so i got Women’s Health and Fitness.


On the way home I picked up a package I’d got from a friend who lives in Australia. Another magazine – Russh!


2:45pm I whipped up a wonderful bowl of oatmeal for lunch: about 1 cup oatmeal (after cooking), 1/2 cup strawberries, 1 tbs Trader Joe’s vegan carob chips (that I bought when I was in the US last time) and a dollop of organic peanut butter. Oh, and a cup of organic green tea, of course. I polished this bowl off while reading my Fitness magazine.


A closeup was in order. I was trying to show the strawberries.

The weather had finally cleared up, the sky was blue and the sun was beaming. Perfect for a run! I went for about 40 minutes and was able to clear my mind a little bit. Today has been one of those “up and down” days.


6.10pm Dinner was a portion of organic brown rice and wakame noodles, with a bunch of stirfry veggies, a half teaspoon of thai red curry for flavor and a drizzle of organic tamari. Sorry about the bad picture, bad lighting and I was in a hurry to eat before the food got cold!

Total calorie intake: 852 kcal

Exercise today:
100 situps
20 dumbell lifts (2 kg)
40 minutes speedwalk
40 minute jog/run

I’ve signed up to try out Bikram Yoga for the first time ever tomorrow morning at ten! Wish me luck! I’m really nervous about it. The class is 90 minutes long, i.e. one and a half hours! I’m scared I’m going to pass out or throw up or something, but I’m excited to try it too because it does sound interesting and I hear you burn a lot of calories doing it.

Have you ever tried Bikram Yoga, what did you think?

3 thoughts on “Amazing oats!

  1. Hey Tina!
    Thanks for visiting my blog. It halps me out alot that people understand what I’m going through and are in the same situations that I am!
    Your oats look so good. I just bought some carob chips today and have no clue what to do with them!

  2. Hi Tina! Your blog looks great! I just love your pictures too. :)
    I am NOT a Bikram fan. I like producing my own sweat internally. But for those that love it, they really seem to love it!

  3. Hey Tina!

    So I tried the carob chips just eating them…..they were….interesting? I think I was expecting chocolate and got CAROB! Haha. I’ll try them in some oats sometime.

    I’ve tried Bikram yoga twice. Both time were in New York City and both time….I HATED IT!

    The teachers were practically drill sargents and because I’m flexible and a ballet dancer they expected me to be able to hold these insane poses for longer than everyone else! I felt absolutely AMAZING after wards but totally NOT worth the hour and a half torture session. I’m thinking that since I’m home in a small town (not the “yoga mecca of the world”) I’ll try it again with some less militant teachers. It does make you feel amazing after, that’s for sure.

    Happy Hump day!

    Sarah

    ps- I love the candles you set up for breakfast. Too cute.

    pps- I guess I tend to ramble on as well ;)

Leave a Reply

