Eats, Bikram Yoga and being proud of yourself

Had my second class of Bikram Yoga this morning! It was great and I felt like the class passed much quicker than last time. I got a introductory membership card which allows me to yoga as much as I want for ten days,  then I’ll probably get a full month membership or a 10-classes card. I think yoga might just turn out to be “my thing”. I’m happy I finally tried it, I’ve been saying for years that I want to start doing yoga!

Before heading out to my Bikram Yoga class I had a light breakfast:


9am Breakfast. 1 whole wheat quinoa rice cracker with hummus and arugula, 1 apple.


2:10pm Lunch. Came home from yoga super hungry! Had a portion of whole wheat oats mixed with about 2 tbs blueberries, topped with strawberries and raspberries and a heaping teaspoon of organic peanut butter. And a cup of organic green tea.


5:15pm Dinner. Exactly the same thing as yesterday (yes, I am totally recycling that picture). Only difference was that I didn’t have sundried tomatoes in my salad today (I forgot to add them). Today’s salad had 1 carrot, 1 tomato, about 1 cup lettuce, handful of arugula, 1/2 cup white beans and 1 tsp organic tahini which I mixed with water to give it a more dressing-like consistency. Also had two organic miso rice cakes and a cup of organic green tea.

After dinner I was full and content, feeling done for the day I added up my calories and was almost surprised to see what a low number I got. I realized I was running a little bit too low today. Again, struggling with my negative thoughts I fought until I finally decided on a healthy and acceptable dessert to up my calories a little bit.


7:15pm Dessert. A small ‘naner and a heaping teaspoon of organic peanut butter!

Total Calories today: 813 kcal

Exercise today:
40 minutes of powewalking
1,5h Bikram yoga class
100 crunches
60 side crunches (pilates lifts, 30 each side)

I know my calorie count is still pretty low today, and to be honest I feel like I’ve missed something because I feel like I’ve eaten quite a bit today. It’s weird and despite the low calorie count I can’t help feeling a little bit guilty about the banana and peanut butter I indulged in this evening. I’m weighing myself tomorrow morning which I know is playing a role in why I feel like I shouldn’t eat “too much”. I have also felt strangely bloated today which adds to my negative thoughts. I’m thinking my bloatiness has something to do with the two fruit/nut bars I had yesterday, especially the evening snack of rice milk, kamut puffs and an apricot bar. I’ve had problems in the past with musli/granola/camut puffs making me feel bloated. I generally try to avoid granola for that reason but I indulge occasionally just because I sometimes can’t resist. And the apricot bar may have done a number on my stomach too, dried fruits do have a tendency to contribute to gasiness. I’m hoping my tummy will be on better terms tomorrow.

The teacher I’ve had at the Bikram yoga classes I’ve attended has ended the class each time by saying something along the lines of: “Thank youself for going through these 90 minutes, for being strong and giving this gift to your body.” I really like that she says that because it reminds me of what a good thing I just did for my body and wellbeing. For a while I’ve been thinking that I should write down at least three things I have done during the day that I am proud of myself for (as a way to increase my near non-existing self confidence) or that I am thankful for. I thought I’d add it as a little feature in my blog now and then.

Today, I am proud of myself for:
– Mustering up the courage to go to a second Bikram yoga class
– Finishing a tough 90 minute Bikram Yoga class
– Talking down my negative thoughts and allowing myself “dessert”

The third one is hard to write and really stand by. I want to feel like it was a good thing but it’s hard to.

Question of the day: What did you do today that made you proud of yourself?

2 thoughts on “Eats, Bikram Yoga and being proud of yourself

  1. Hi Tina,
    I’m so glad you’re enjoying Bikram Yoga so much. It kinda make me want to try it again! (note to self – find hot yoga studio).
    I was kinda worried about your low cals but I’m glad that you’ve acknowledged it. You are a very healthy eater which inspired me to ea better and buy more organic produce.
    Have a great Sunday :)
    Cheers,
    Sarah

  2. I am happy to hear that you are enjoying Bikram! Have you ever tried a ‘non-hot’ yoga class? It is hard not to feel guilty about allowing yourself to eat some things that you normally don’t but just remind yourself what you are working toward.

    I had the most amazing run of my life today and I was so proud of myself because I am definitely not the best runner. Hope that you enjoyed your weekend :)

Leave a Reply

