Concequences

First and foremost, THANK YOU ALL so much for your support, kind words, advice and concern regarding my last post. The blogworld is amazing and I am very touched to see so many people were there for me when I was feeling down and helpless. Your words mean the world to me and I am very grateful to you all.

My binging on Monday definitely came back to haunt me in the worst way possible yesterday: I got really sick. I woke up feeling bloated and kind of uncomfortable but I knew this is how I always feel after binging on sugar. I went to Bikram Yoga in the morning and when we got to the first pose after the warmup breathing I suddenly felt extremely nauseous and dizzy. I’ve never passed out in my life but I’ve been very close once before. I literally had to stop and sit down on my mat for a couple of minutes. I felt like I was going to throw up, my whole body was shaking, I went completely pale and my hearing dissapeared (the best way I can describe it is as if someone suddenly came up behind me and put their hands over my ears). This is something the teacher mentioned could happen to you the firs time you try Bikram Yoga, but this has never happened to me during Bikram before! Luckily it passed and I was able to complete the class but each time we were doing poses that stretch the stomach I started feeling a little bit nauseous again. After yoga in the morning I started feeling a headache coming on and by the evening I had a full blown migrane. I had trouble with migranes when I was a kid, but ever since I started eating healthy I haven’t had them anymore. However, when I binge on high amounts of sugar I get a terrible migrane. This is the second time in about two months this has happened. And you’d think this would teach me my lesson, right? I don’t know why I go back and binge on candy when I have such horrible side effects from doing so. Yesterday was definitely an extra strong hit in the gut (literally).

Despite feeling pooey yesterday, I did manage to photograph all of my food:


7:30am Breakfast. Before heading to Bikram Yoga I had a big apple and a whole wheat quinoa rice cracker with hummus and alfalfa sprouts.


On my way home from Bikram Yoga I stopped by my favorite little organic shop and picked up this Carrot Raisin bread. It’s low fat and contains no yeast, fat, flour, sweeteners, eggs, salt or dairy products!


12:35pm Lunch. I whipped up my standard bowl of oats and threw in a small banana and some frozen strawberries (I always make my oats with water). Topped off with a dollop of organic peanut butter and I tasted a slice of my new carrot raisin bread. It was good!

3:25pm Snack. I needed to re-fuel in the afternoon so I opted for one of my favorite snacks – a big apple dusted with cinnamon.

5:40pm Dinner. I had my standard salad with white beans (seen in previous posts) for dinner. So no picture of that one.


9pm Evening snack. Edamame beans in pods with sea salt.

Total calories: 977 kcal

Exercise:
1,5h Bikram Yoga
40 minutes powerwalking

I had decided to try to eat at least 1 000 kcal yesterday but by the time I’d finished dinner and counted my calories I noticed I was only up to about 870 kcal. So I knew I needed to have some dessert or evening snack. Despite my evening snack of edamame beans, I still didn’t manage to get up to the thousand calories, although maybe I did? I feel like I’m counting my calories wrong, like it’s impossible for all this food to be less than a thousand calories. I’m going to try to stick to around 1 000 kcal every day this week.

Oh, and Erinbee is having a fantastic Newmans Own giveaway! Go check it out!

5 thoughts on “Concequences

  1. Tina – thanks for the Ricemellow ideas! I loooove oatmeal cream pies, so I just might have to dig around for a recipe.

    The carrot raisin bread sounds delish :)

  2. I’m sorry that you had a bad morning. I’ve never done Bikram yoga so I’m not familiar with how it can make you feel, but the way you described how you were feeling didn’t sound pleasant.

    I am not being critical, just wondering are you limiting your calorie intake this week because of the binge or do you always aim for 1,000 kcals a day?

    Lastly, the carrot raisin bread sounds amazing. I think I would fall in LOVE with that bread!

    I hope you have a fabulous Wednesday!

    • For me, eating 1 000 kcal a day isn’t limiting. Usually I barely make it to 1 000 kcal (not counting the days I binge) so it’s more like I’m trying to increase my calorie intake this week by eating at least 1 000 kcal. I know it sounds weird but it’s hard for me to tell myself it’s okay to eat 1 000 kcal or more a day. I don’t know how many calories I should be eating.

      The carrot raisin bread IS amazing! :)

  3. Hey Girl! Thanks for reading my blog. I really like yours! It looks great and seems like we have a whole lot in common. I think we can both use eachothers blogs as support when that binge happens. I can’t wait to read more!!

  4. So sorry you weren’t feeling good at yoga, that is the worst feeling when you know you are about to pass out, i know exactly what you’re talking about with the losing hearing. Ugh I hate it, so gladyou were able to recover and continue the class.
    the carrot raisin bread sounds delish!

Leave a Reply

