I’m not very active and I eat oatmeal creme pies

I’m so happy and grateful that I found the food blogging world. You are all so fantastic! I’m already completely addicted to your blogs and keep adding new ones to my blogroll. Thank you for all your lovely comments, they make me so very happy!

Okay, let’s start this post off on a boring serious note: I’ve got some emails and comments with concerns regarding the amount of calories I consume in a day. Thank you for showing support and offering me your time and advice. I greatly appreciate it and am not at all offended by your concerns! I thought I’d just state this for the record though: Eating the amount of calories that I do feels like a really lot to me. In fact, I am convinced I am counting my calories wrong because I can’t see how everything I eat amounts to just barely 1 000 calories most of the time. Today I have eaten so much that I am sitting here feeling stuffed to the brim right now (and unfortunately, the thoughts of guilt are flooding my mind). I’m trying to get up to at least 1 000 calories a day this week but it’s hard! I feel like if I’m eating that much, I’m never going to get in shape. As many of you know, I have some eating issues but I have also gained weight this past year (I am by  no means underweight!) and I know that I would benefit from loosing a couple of pounds and toning up, it would make me feel more happy and content with myself. I know this sounds like something bad coming from someone with “ED tendencies/behaviour” but I know where my “happy medium” is and I’m a couple of pounds above that weight. My “happy medium” is not my lowest weight nor is it an unhealthy weight, it is a perfect healthy weight for me and the weight at which I know I feel the most comfortable and satisfied with myself.

What is so frustrating to me right now is that I seem to be standing still with my weight. I’m exercising more than I usually do, I’m eating healthier than I have in a long time but nothing is changing! Contrary to many others, I do not have a very active life. I try to exercise as much as possible, I go to Bikram Yoga a couple of times a week and go for powerwalks or short jogs but other than that, I’m hardly active at all. I don’t even have a job to get up and go to (I’m a  freelance writer) so mostly I’m just sitting or lying around all day. That would also explain why eating the amount I do feels like WAY too much for me. If  I’m just sitting around all day then eating three meals a day and sometimes snacks is A LOT! And I know everyone’s going to pull the “muscles weigh more than fat”-card on me (my mom always does anyway), but if that were the case then I should notice a difference in the way my clothes fit – no? Well, they’re just as snuggily-snug as they have been since I gained weight. I don’t know what I am doing wrong! I feel like I can’t even eat “normal and healthy” without gainging weight.

Anyway, on to… food.

Breakfast was a bowl of fruit (orange, apple, berries) and a slice of carrot raisin bread. In other words, the same as yesterday, so no picture of that.


3:05pm Lunch. The exact same as yesterday (obviously I had to do a repeat of this amazing lunch), I took a picture because I bought pretty napkins today and made the whole ensamble look all snazzy. Anyway, these are oats made with water with about 5 frozen strawberries mixed in, a dollop of peanut butter and on the side a slice of carrot raisin bread with a smudge of peanut butter and sliced banana. This is the best lunch eveeeer!


4:15pm Snack. I wasn’t hungry after lunch, but I kept thinking about the vegan oatmeal creme pies in the fridge. I made about seven last night (and there’s about a zillion oatmeal cookies left) and my mom and I each had two last night. So for a snack I pulled the remaining three out of the fridge and had two… I’m still working on convincing myself it was worth it.


I also had a plain oatmeal cookie. I made part of the batch into “mini” oatmeal cookies figuring I could have them as a “mini” dessert now and then. They’re good, not very sweet since I cut out more than half the amount of sugar but they’re nice and soft which is what matters! :) I’m having a hard time figuring out how many calories I should count for these though. I figured about 150 kcal for the oatmeal creme pie and 50 for the mini oatmeal cookie? Ugh, I wish I knew more exact.

6.15pm Dinner. I went for a quick run and came home to make dinner even though I wasn’t at all hungry. I made my standard salad (lettuce, tomato, sundried tomato, carrot, white beans, alfalfa sprouts) and topped it with a tablespoon of hummus instead of my standard tahini sauce. And I had two of my favorite miso rice crackers on the side.

Total calories today: ~1 108 kcal

Exercise today:
20 minutes powerwalk
35 minutes jogging
100 crunches
60 side crunches (30 each side)
20 dumbell lifts (2 kg weights)

Tomorrow afternoon is Bikram Yoga again! Wohoo!

Web news: Tina (fabulous name!) over at Carrots n’ Cake is having a Pure Bar Giveaway! And I want to win because I’ve never tried them!

Question of the day: How much do you exercise on an average day?

9 thoughts on “I’m not very active and I eat oatmeal creme pies

  1. Tina, do you think it’s possible that since you are eating so low in calories that your body is actually hanging on to them because it doesn’t know when the next time will be that you will give it a decent sized meal? Maybe this is why you’ve hit a plateau in your weight loss.

    I know all too well what it’s like to struggle with food. I’m sorry you are dealing with this. If you ever want to talk, check out my blog or email me.. i’d love to help if I can!

    Leah @ Simply Fabulous Now
    http://simplyfabulousnow.wordpress.com

  2. Hi Tina,

    Do you think it’s possible that your body might be hanging on to the calories that you are giving it, because it’s not sure when the next time you’ll be giving it more is? With your workouts and minimal eating- it’s probably thinking “give me more girl!”

    I know all too well what it’s like to struggle with food. It SUCKS. Trying to lose weight sucks. It all just sucks. If you ever want to talk, visit my blog or email me.. i’d love to help if I can!

    Leah @ Simply Fabulous Now

  3. hey…maybe you’re not eating enough so you’re metabolism is slowing down?? that could be why you’re not losing. it sounds kind of strange, but i’ve read that could happen.

  4. girl i LOVED skinny bitch too! i’ve read it a few times myself :) I think you’ll definitely love this book if you get it! Ah your oatmeal cream pies seriously are makin me drool over hereeee

  5. I was thinking the same thing as Leah regarding the “starvation mode” and your body hanging on to every little bit of food to give it.
    Maybe you should try and not count for a little while, just eating WHEN your body tells you and eating WHAT your body tells you.
    It’s a HARD HARD process and I am struggling as well but I really believe that eventually we will conquer this and find a happy medium….. whatever our “normal” is!
    Much love,
    Sarah

  6. I understand your troubles and I back you up 100%, if you ever need any one to talk to about it you know my email address! I know it can get frustrating if you have a certain weight that you feel most comfortable at but the truth is it may not be right for your body even though it seems right in your mind. The best advice I can give you is to eat natural, whole foods and try to make it to at least 1200 kcal a day and exercise as much as you can. And trust me, as much as Swedes walk, especially in Stockholm, I am willing to bet you get enough exercise :)

    As for your question for today, I usually walk the dogs a few times a day and practice my yoga. I am trying to start running too, but we’ll see how that goes. Enjoy your weekend!

  7. So glad I stumbled upon your blog! So far yours is the only one I have enjoyed from another country! I find other cultures/countries/places other than the US so great!! Keep up the great work =)

Leave a Reply

