Vegan pancakes and black bean brownies!

You guys, the weather yesterday was so fantastic! There was not one single cloud on the sky all day long! No lie! In town yesterday it was madness, there were SO MANY PEOPLE everywhere! The streets were literally cluttered with people. I myself made sure to suck in the sun as much as possible all day! I hope the sun will be strong enough to start giving me a tan soon!

Anyway, ’nuff said. Here’s my eats for yesterday.


10:05am Breakfast. I had the same lovely breakfast again. Fruit salad (1 apple, 1 kiwi, 1/2 cup berries) with two mini slices of date bread on the side with a smudge of peanut butter and 1/3 banana sliced on top. A cup of green tea and a glass of water to pull it all together. This date bread with peanut butter and banana is SO yummy! I enjoy every single little bite of it.


2:05pm Lunch. I went a little wild for lunch and made vegan pancakes (my recipe follows). They turned out good and I simply topped them with some nice blueberries, strawberries and raspberries. I’m guesstimating that this is about a 300 kcal portion of pancakes, with about 45 kcal worth of berries.

Vegan sugar free and fat free pancakes
This is slightly guesstimated as I can’t remember exactly what I did…

3/4 cup whole wheat flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp cinnamon (or more)
2 tbs water
about 1/2 – 3/4 cup rice milk (or other non-dairy milk)
1 tbs apple sauce

Sift together dry ingredients. In a separate bowl, mix together wet ingredients. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and stir until just combined. Cook until just browned on each side. Top with berries!


6:25pm Dinner. For dinner I made a salad (lettuce, tomato, carrot, cucumber, sundried tomato) with 1 tbs hummus and about 90g of plain tofu that I cut into cubes and fried with some curry powder. It was good!

9:15pm Dessert. I had 2/3 banana with some peanut butter. Definitely a favorite. But I also had…


Vegan Black Bean Brownies that I made! I had three! There are a ton of different recipes for these floating around the internet and naturally I had to make my own version of them. I cut out the fat completely and added some shredded coconut. I also cut out the sugar aside from a teaspoon of vanilla sugar. They’re so healthy they could almost work as a pre-workout snack! I’m figuring they’re around 80 kcal? The nutritional facts I have found online have stated that they’re between 60-90 kcal each but that’s for the ones that have sugar, fat and eggs in them!

Anyway, I also had two medjool dates and called it a night!

Total calories today: ~1 401 kcal

Exercise today:
100 crunches
1h powerwalk

It’s Sunday morning and I have to grab an apple and head out to Bikram Yoga! Hope you have a wonderful day!

One thought on “Vegan pancakes and black bean brownies!

  1. I hope you enjoy enough sun for the both of us. There is still snow all over the ground over here!

    Pancakes looks great. I can’t wait until berries are in season here so I can eat them :)

    I just bought 2 boxes of Medjool dates from a big warehouse store, they were HALF as expensive as in the grocery stores. Needless to say I was very excited!

    Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

