HAPPY EARTH DAY!

It’s not only Earth day today, it’s also my sister’s birthday! This morning my mom and I put together a nice breakfast for her and her friend came over. I didn’t take any pictures of my actual breakfast, I wasn’t comfortable taking pictures in front of my sister’s friend. But, I did manage to snap some photos of some of the spread before her friend got here.


I made a fruit salad (pinapple, apple, pear, kiwi, banana, strawberries) and there were more strawberries and jam to go with…


This beautiful platter of goodness. The bottom level is slices of a apricot/raisin/hazelnut sourdough bread and the top level is two pain au chocolat (chocolate croissants) and two danish-type things. I cut each of them in half, so those are halves on the top level. There was also organge juice and coffe made from irish cream coffe beans, that my sister got for her birthday.

So what did I have for breakfast?
10:00am Breakfast. One slice apricot/raisin/hazelnut sourdough bread toasted with Tofutti vegan cream cheese, a small bowl of fruit salad. A small cup of coffee (I know, shocking!) with a couple drops of oat milk in it, a small glass of orange juice and a half of a pain au chocolat and a half of a danish-thingy.


2:25pm Lunch. A small portion of plain soy yoghurt with 1/2 apple diced into it and one strawberry sliced on top, the other 1/2 apple in slices on the side. A piece of carrot raisin bread with 1tsp homemade unsweetened all natural apple sauce topped with cinnamon. And a cup of tea.


6pm Dinner. Wasn’t feeling too hungry when dinner rolled around, just threw together a fresh salad – mixed greens, baby spinach, a small carrot, a tomato, cucumber, sundried tomato and alfalfa sprouts topped with plain soy yoghurt+mustard+water dressing.


8pm Evening snack. For an evening snack I had something I’ve been thinking about making for a while. A flatbread topped with some organic peanut butter and 1/3 banana that I then fried for a couple of minutes on each side to make the bananas a little mush. Sorry the pictures don’t reveal the inner goodness of this. I assure you, it was delish.

Total calories today: 1 054 kcal

Exercise today:
15 minutes of light walking
110 crunches (20 bicycle crunches)
Still fighting the flu so I’m trying to take it a little easy.

In honor of Earth Day, here’s a few of the things I do in favor of our planet:

– I always take the bus, subway or train (I do not own a car and neither does my family)
– I walk or bike wherever I can
– My family recycle newspapers, paper, plastic and glass
– I hand in clothes to charity or second hand shops (and shop there myself from time to time)
– I opt for organic produce as much as possible (and as much as I can afford)
– I always use my reusable cloth bag when I go grocery shopping
– I take short showers
– I am a vegetarian
– I turn off lights

Question of the day: What are you doing to save our planet?

3 thoughts on “HAPPY EARTH DAY!

  1. Those pastries look delish! The top 2 things I do towards the good of our planet is–
    *Always always use my reusable bags when shopping!
    *I’m a thrift-oholic! =)
    *I unplug all appliances when not in use.

Leave a Reply

