I met Jamie Oliver!

This afternoon I was invited to a press event held at Scandic Hotel with Jamie Oliver. He’s got a new collaboration with them and has developed a kids menu for the hotel chain that will start being served in their hotel restaurant in June this year! He had a little live cookshow for us demonstrating a main course, a salad and a dessert off the kids menu he’s developed. It was great fun as I have been a fan of Jamie Oliver for many, many years. And I can confirm that he is every bit as funny and charming in real life as he is in his TV shows. (There’s a photo I took from today further down).


10:25am Breakfast. Two thin slices of rye bread with Tofutti vegan cream cheese and cucumber. A bowl of 1/2 apple, 2 tbs apple sauce and 2 sliced fresh strawberries.


Here’s the photo of Jamie Oliver that I promised. It was fun to see him cook live and to hear him talking and telling a ton of fun stories. Jamie and his wife Jools just had their third daughter by the way!


3:30pm Lunch. Lunch was offered at the press event but I opted out of it and headed home, partly because Jamie had made a meal of spaghetti and meatballs (i.e. not vegetarian). I’m sure it was all lovely though! I got home kind of late in the afternoon from the event so this was a very late lunch. I made a wrap with one whole wheat flatbread filled with Tofutti vegan cream cheese, spinach, smoked tofu, artichoke hearts and cucumber. On the side I had my yoghurt mess – plain soy yoghurt and a small apple.


6:30pm Dinner. I wasn’t that hungry at all for dinner since I’d eaten lunch so late so I just threw together a salad: lettuce, tomato, carrot, cucumber, sundried tomato, artichoke and arugula topped with plain soy yoghurt+strong mustard+water -dressing.


8:30pm Dessert. For dessert I whipped out a Tofutti Mint Chocolate Chip mini ice cream sandwhich and a small apple with cinnamon.

Total calories today: 889 kcal
(My calories for today don’t make an ounce of sense to me. I mean, I basically eat the same thing every day, how can my calorie total amount to so much less today!?)

Exercise today:
25 minute powerwalk
100 crunches

Alright, I gotta hit the sack. I have Bikram yoga tomorrow morning for the first time in over a week! Because I was sick last week I didn’t go once and on top of that I’ve been down and unmotivated and just plain slacked off. Wish me luck and please cross your fingers I don’t feel really sick tomorrow at yoga because it’s been so long since I went last!

Question of the day: What do you think of Jamie Oliver?

4 thoughts on “I met Jamie Oliver!

  1. That is so cool that you got to meet Jamie Oliver! I have been at that hotel :) And yeah, he is pretty cute! Don’t know too much about his cooking style though.

  2. I used to love watching “The Naked Chef” with Jamie Oliver. He’s doing a programme now in the UK cooking with things he’s grown in his garden (can’t remember what it’s called)

  3. I think your cals are so low coz you didn’t have anything substantial in your salad. I liked Jamie Oliver for quite a while, but I find him to be a little annoying nowadays. His recipes always look so good, but I must say the times I’ve tried to make them from his books they haven’t been that great. Dunno.

Leave a Reply

