Vegan news from Ben&Jerry’s

So, for today’s fun stuff I have to share this little piece of news – I recently recieved a press release from Ben&Jerry’s Sweden announcing two new flavors. Ben&Jerry’s is a favorite of many but it’s also one of the most calorie-packed ice creams out there, and it’s not vegan. Well, the two new flavors are sorbet ice cream, which makes them both low calorie and vegan! Who thought Ben&Jerry’s would ever be vegan, huh?

I don’t know if these are available in the US but I would assume they are, and if they are they’re probably not news (it usually takes a while for them to import new flavors to Sweden). Jamaican Me Crazy is completely vegan and has 130 kcal per 100 grams (about 3.5oz) of ice cream. Mango Berry Swirl is also completely vegan and is only 100 kcal per 100 grams. They’re both fat free too!

Now, let’s look at some “real” food.


10:10am Breakfast. Last piece of carrot raisin bread with Tofutti vegan cream cheese. A bowl of an apple and strawberries. And a cup of Clipper decaf green tea.

After breakfast I headed into town to meet my sister who was already in town. We picked up an iced coffee with soy milk (no pic) at her work to carry with us as we took a little walk and then sat down in a park in the sun. We debated for a while if we should get ice cream and eyed the ice cream at a couple of different places before deciding we were both hungry for food instead. So we went to Chutney, a great vegetarian/vegan restaurant. They always have a couple of specials of the day and they’re almost always vegan. We both choose the chickpea cutlets with rice and basil sauce (all vegan). I didn’t snap a photo until it was too late, I managed to get a shot of one of my sister’s cutlets. Sorry about the nasty-ish looking pic.


3:40pm Lunch. My portion was two of these mini chickpea cutlets and about 1/2 cup of rice and about a tablespoon of the sauce. I also had a slice of very dark bread on the side (with nothing on it). They have the best dark, dark bread here. I definitely left a lot of rice and sauce on my plate.


7:30pm Dinner. I wasn’t hungry at all after our late lunch. It wasn’t that big of a meal at all, but it still filled me up. I knew I needed to eat more today though so I threw together an easy and light “dinner”. I’ll call this superwoman yoghurt mess. I mixed plain soy yoghurt with 1/2 scoop of soy protein powder (I keep trying to get more protein into my diet), in the mess is a small apple, strawberries and 1/3 banana. I also had another cup of Clipper decaf green tea on the side.

Total calories today: ~921 kcal

Exercise today:
Walking in town about 30-40 min
Plan to do my 100 crunches and several dumbell lifts

I’ll leave you with this pretty picture of the sunset this evening. And what I am listening to as I write this along with a question of the day.


What I’m listening to right now: Coldplay – Clocks
Question of the day: What are your weekend plans?

5 thoughts on “Vegan news from Ben&Jerry’s

  1. Ooo I have not seen that delish looking sorbet yet; but thanks for the heads up! My weekend plans=nothing fun at all except studying for my LAST final on Monday. Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

