Is fruit unhealthy?

Sorry I didn’t post yesterday… let’s just say my eats weren’t exactly healthy and I didn’t take pictures during the day.

Research shows that fruit increases belly fat
This morning I was reading the newspaper while chowing down on my regular bowl of fruit for breakfast when I came across an interesting article about just that – fruit! Dr. Christer Enkvist reports for Svenska Dagbladet that a new study has shown that fruit can increase belly fat. The study was published in Journal of Clinical Investigation (follow the link to go to the research article) by a group of researchers who found that fructose (which is found in fruit) expands our waistlines and increases insulin resistence – moreso than regular sugar (glucose) does. The researchers let two groups of people consume equal amounts of fructose and glucose (measured in calories) and found that the group of people who consumed the fructose had a higher increase in body fat than the people who consumed glucose.

This both makes me worried and very frustrated. For years we’ve been told that eating a lot of fruit is healthy for us and is said to reduce the risk of heart disease, certain types of cancer and obesity (among other things). And now suddenly it’s supposed to be doing the opposite? The article does not state how much fruit is an “ok” amount. Now, for this reason I am going to try to cut back on the amount of fruit I eat and see what difference (if any) it makes.

Food


10:00am Breakfast. A bowl of fruit: 1/2 banana, 1 small apple, 1 kiwi. Two slices rye bread with Tofutti vegan cream cheese and alfalfa sprouts. Decaf green tea.

This afternoon I met with my friend and had an iced coffee with soy milk. We ended up walking around town for a couple of hours and talking. I didn’t get home until about 5:30pm and got straight to making dinner, which was…


6pm Dinner. Homemade chickpea cutlets! I made up the recipe myself, they’re almost only made up of chickpeas. I added some spices and red onion. On the side I had some oven roasted zucchini, red onion and red bell peppers and for a sauce I mixed plain soy yoghurt, strong mustard and fresh chopped parsley. It was good!

After dinner I headed out the door again to make a quick stop by the grocery store to pick up some muesli to use as a substitute for the fruit I usually put in my yoghurt. Some of the grocery stores here have boxes of various grains that you can mix and match. I mixed bran flakes, quinoa puffs and kamut puffs… I think that was all.


8:15pm Evening snack. Obviously I had to try the muesli mix right away. I had a little bit of plain soy yoghurt, about 1/2 cup of muesli mix and two prunes along with a cup of blueberry tea!

Total calories today: 895 kcal
(Because I’ve had a couple of “bad” days this week when I’ve consumed a very high amount of calories a quick calculation showed that my average consumtion of calories per day this week has been around 1 500 kcal. I’d like to keep it to 1 200 kcal and not fluctuate so much from day to day.)

Exercise today:
About 40 minutes of powerwalking all over town
100 crunches
25 dumbell lifts

Question/discussion of the day: What do you think of the new research that shows fruit may be bad for us?

5 thoughts on “Is fruit unhealthy?

  1. did the article say it was bad or just caused weight gain? fruit is without a doubt very good for you, i think its just every thing in moderation.

  2. Thats really interesting. I think that fruit is good for you, and maybe because it builds up the disease fighting agents it might put on weight. I will continue eating it however!

  3. The fact that the researchers made the people consume isolated fructose and isolated glucose does NOT have to prove that fruit makes you fat. It could mean anything really. So I think it’s a pretty shabby bit of research.

Leave a Reply

