Just keep running…

You know that part in the movie Nemo where Doris (I think it was Doris…) is swimming along and keeps repeating “Just keep swimming…” Well, when I go running I sometimes get that in my head and start thinking “Just keep running…” over and over in that same sing-song kind of voice. Wow okay, totally useless info. Anyway, moving on…

Today! I had another busy day. I actually really appreciate days like this because they’re unfortunately so rare in my life right now. Mostly I’m just bored and sitting around on my buttocks.

I awoke a sweaty mess this morning (sexy, no?) and proceeded to catch up on the latest episode of The Hills since it was too early for breakfast yet. Intense episode, not. But it served it’s purpose, ya know?

So, then I made breakfast.


9:40am Breakfast. Two whole grain rice crackers – one with Tofutti vegan cream cheese and one with two slices Tofu papricano and some cucumber. A bowl of plain soy yoghurt with 1 tbs of ground flaxseed and two prunes. And the regular cup of green tea with ginseng.

After breakfast I headed to the mall (again) to return some things I got yesterday and to reconsider a pair of shoes I’d seen. I reconsidered and bought them. Check out my new babies! (I know I said I’d show the dress I got yesterday but I couldn’t get a good picture of it, so I’ll post a picture when I wear it out!)


Hard to tell by the picture maybe but they’re hot! I can’t wait to take them for a walk.

Here’s today’s “what? noooo!”-story: When I got home from the mall I started to make lunch and noticed something rather devastating – my food scale was broken! This upset me more than it would probably upset most people… I haven’t mentioned this before (but I am sure it isn’t much of a surprise to anyone since you know I count my calories), I weigh a lot of my food to keep track of the calories. This might sound like something very negative but it isn’t for me. I started weighing my food and counting calories around the same time I started blogging and since starting the blog I have been eating healthier than I have in ages. I’ve improved a LOT in the restricting-department as well as with my binging.

So anyway, how did the food scale break? Well, I’m such a smartass that I decided to clean it this morning and managed to get water inside it which caused it to malfunction and die. Good one. So, I eyeballed the parts of lunch that I usually weigh (which gave me a certain degree of anxiety but I managed to put together lunch and eat it anyway).


2pm Lunch. A portion of oatmeal with a teaspoon of peanut butter. Two slices date bread toasted with some of the peanut butter.

After lunch I took a powerwalk to the grocery store to get a new food scale. I powerwalked it home and popped it out of the package only to find that the two little batteries included in the package won’t fit because the “socket” for the batteries is crooked. I was so frustrated and angry when I noticed this! I’ll have to try to return it tomorrow…

After my little food scale mishap and grocery store run I threw my gym clothes on and went out for an hour powerwalk. I incorperated quite a bit of running too. I got home a sweaty mess and made dinner…


5:50pm Dinner. A small apple, peeled and sliced, a medium carrot cut in two and a flatbread with my “tofu salad”, iceberg lettuce and cucumbers. I also had a glass of 1 scoop vanilla soy protein powder, 1/2 cup oat milk and 1/2 cup rice milk.

Total calories: 1 066 kcal

Exercise:
40 minute powerwalk to and from the grocery store
1h powerwalk and jog/run
100 crunches

And that’s pretty much it. This evenings agenda includes an episode of Nip/Tuck and then I’m hitting the sack because I’ve got a meeting at the office for the magazine I work for (freelance) tomorrow morning and then in the afternoon I’m going to a fashion show. Tomorrow evening I might be meeting my friend and sometime tomorrow I have to make a run to the mall to return a book at the library, get a new food scale, go to the grocery store and return the bad food scale and run by the organic store to pick up some small groceries. A busy day again (I hope!)

Question of the day: What music do you listen to while you exercise? (please give me suggestions of good exercise music!)

3 thoughts on “Just keep running…

  1. Those shoes are shoes of a true DIVA! And oooh do I have some upbeat music for you to workout to! They are from this club in SF, they also have clubs all over the world, called Bootie!

    http://www.bootieusa.com/bestofbootie2008/

    Click in the top right to download the cd and underneith that you can listen to all the songs!! They are seriously AMAZING! my favs are

    [audio src="http://www.soop.ca/bootie/bestofbootie2008/02%20-%20DJ%20Tripp%20-%20Paper%20Rump.mp3" /]

    [audio src="http://www.soop.ca/bootie/bestofbootie2008/04%20-%20Lobsterdust%20-%20It's%20Fun%20To%20Smoke%20Dust.mp3" /]

    [audio src="http://www.soop.ca/bootie/bestofbootie2008/05%20-%20Earworm%20-%20No%20More%20Gas.mp3" /]

    HAVE FUN!

  2. I’m with you on the scales situation. I weigh everything, including fruit and veg, which may sound silly but it all adds up and I like to calculate caloires, fat and carbs too.
    At the moment I’m listening to Lady Gaga’s album, it’s great to exercise to and really up beat.

Leave a Reply

