A lifelong dream – surfcamp!

I’ve got some fantastic news today – I’m going to surfcamp! I finally booked the trip I have been talking about doing for years! There were only a couple of spots left so I had to go with what there was. This means I leave in less than two weeks! The surfcamp is one week long and I’m getting nervous because I realize that aside from being a lot of fun the camp is also going to be quite the challenge for me. Once I’d booked the trip I got an email from them with a little training program to do in preparation for surf camp, to build up some of the muscles I’ll be using while (attempting) to surf. Let me just say, I tried to do the program today and I could hardly do half of it! Have any of you been to surf camp or tried surfing – what did you think? What tips do you have for me (a complete beginner)?

So, anyway. It’s been a while since I last updated! This past week was a complete mess food-wise and the scale definitely showed proof of that this morning. Let’s get straight to today instead. It’s really important that I eat healthy and exercise a lot now before my surftrip so I’m really going to use that as my motivation to do better.

10:00 Breakfast. Soy yoghurt, kiwi, ground flaxseed and cantaloupe.

10:00 Breakfast. Soy yoghurt, kiwi, ground flaxseed and cantaloupe.

After breakfast I went for my powerwalk and run because the sun has finally returned! It’s been a rather nice day today. I got home and booked my surftrip after some calls and trying to figure out which week to book. Then it was time to throw together some lunch.

1:50pm Lunch. Wrap with Tofutti cream cheese, lettuce, cucumber and tofu. A nectarine on the side. I enjoyed this in the sun!

1:50pm Lunch. Wrap with Tofutti cream cheese, lettuce, cucumber and tofu. A nectarine on the side. I enjoyed this in the sun!

After lunch I made my own mango cucumber salsa! Homegirl was ravin’ about Trader Joe’s pinapple salsa which she’s been putting in her Hugh Jass-salads like the genious she is and that inspired me to make my own since we don’t have Trader Joe’s in Sweden. It turned out great and I had a spoon of it in my Hugh Jass this evening for dinner…

5:35pm Dinner. Best salad EVER! This was so good. In the salad: iceberg lettuce, carrot, cucumber, steamed broccoli, a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, some herb salt and topped with some of my mango cucumber salsa and a veggie burger. Nom nom nom!

5:35pm Dinner. Best salad EVER! This was so good. In the salad: iceberg lettuce, carrot, cucumber, steamed broccoli, a drizzle of balsamic vinegar, some herb salt and topped with some of my mango cucumber salsa and a veggie burger. Nom nom nom!

After dinner I attempted the exercise program they’d sent me from the surf camp and got my butt totally kicked! Wowza, so hard! I really need to try to do it every day so my body has at least got a slight clue what it’s in for when I attempt to hit the waves!

8pm Evening snack. Two carob covered rice crackers, an apple and a cup of honey vanilla chamomile tea.

8pm Evening snack. Two carob covered rice crackers, an apple and a cup of honey vanilla chamomile tea.

Exercise today:
1h Powerwalk/run intervals
200 crunches
20 dumbell lifts
3×10 arm/back exercises with dumbells for surfing
3×30 paddle exercises with dumbells for surfing
10 jumps, up from pushup position

They’re showing Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Facotry on TV now and as the chocolate and Johnny Depp (mmm) lover I am, I’m glued!

Question of the day: Give me all the tips you have about surfing!

3 thoughts on “A lifelong dream – surfcamp!

  1. THAT’S AWESOME! Congrats on the surf camp you will have a great time. All I know about surfing is my brother’s best friend does it and you HAVE TO have excellent balance! That’s a start, basically keeping weight even between your hips and shoulders. I’m sure you’ll do great! Glad the nice weather came back! Lovin the outdoor shots!

  2. Surf camp?! SO FUN! I have never surfed…even being from California..but would absolutely love to learn someday!

    SO GLAD you loved the pineapple salsa…I just had some and it was divine! Isn’t steamed broccoli supa good on salads? It is my new favorite ingredient to my hugh jasses!

Leave a Reply

